Skip directly to content

Practical Guide Lithostratigraphy Ieper Group

on Wed, 09/27/2017 - 08:48

The stratigraphy of the Ieper group has been revised during the past years by the Subcommission for Paleogene and Neogene Stratigraphy. Published data were evaluated and synthesized. Since a visual differentiation between the units sometimes proved difficult, the characterization therefore relies also on geophysical logs.

The revision of the Ieper Group was ratified by the National Commission for Stratigraphy in 2017 and constitutes the base formal lithostratigraphic division of the group into the following formations: Gentbrugge, Hyon, Tielt, Mons-en-Pévèle and Kortrijk. An ad hoc working group prepared the practical document 'Lithostratigraphy Ieper Group' for the interpretation of well data and the application of the new stratigraphic scheme. This document holds a synthesis of the description of the formations, members and beds together with geophysical data. The correlation and geographical distribution of the units is also depicted. You can download the detailled document ‘Steurbaut, E. , De Ceukelaire, M., Lanckacker T., Matthijs, J., Stassen, P., Van Baelen H., Vandenberghe, N., 2016. Lithostratigraphy Ieper Group’ from
We'll gladly answer any questions relating to this new stratigraphic scheme, please mail to